top of page

c'est la vie


At what point do you stop living your life for other people? I am very guilty of this. I have done stupid things to make other people happy, very stupid, idiotic things, that have ruined experiences I was genuinely happy about. Ruined relationships, career opportunities, and the list honestly goes on. Don't get me wrong, I have some brilliant people in my life. Though everyone thinks they know what's best for me, that because I'm only at the grand old age of 24, that my life experience isn't enough for me to make my own decisions. Unfortunately, because I have this undying urge to make the people in my life happy, I have gone ahead with listening to these “tidbits” and I have realised this has left me not only annoyed, but sometimes lost and also feeling a little resentment at times. Now I know all of the above is only coming from a place of love and wishing to see me happy, but I’ve grown a lot this year and wish to do something about it. Which is why, I have since stoped allowing myself to feel this need for others approval. I now make my decisions and make sure that my loved ones know, that although I appreciate where they are coming from, I know what I want and I need to achieve that for myself, regardless of the consequences, after all, it is my life. So with just over two months to go until we see the back of 2017, I know I have done what’s right for me and my loved ones will always be supportive, even if they may just need a little more time to come around to the idea. So take some time look out for yourself unicorns! Ellie out


bottom of page