top of page

The Perfect Man


As I ‘mature’ (That’s the nice word for getting old and now entering into the 3 day hangover stage in life *sigh*) I have been asked, and have queried myself on this image of “The Perfect Man” – Do I think such a thing exists? No, no I do not, and I think the idea of it as a whole is actually rather unsettling.

However as I aim to leave behind the boys, that leave me with stunted conversation, less than impressive musical repertoire and a limited grasp on the female anatomy, that would make even the most bashful PDHPE teacher shake their head in dismay. I do know, I at least would like a manly-ish man… (I know, really making some headway now) I do however keep coming back to my love for alcohol, and in particular cocktails. So I thought, maybe MY perfect man is like alcohol?…..So my perfect man, I believe should be like a good Negroni, of which I am very partial too..

On first appearance, it’s sexy, with its amber coloring, it’s on the prettier side but teamed with the right old fashioned glass and it’s a suave looking cocktail.

The smell is strong & sensual, with the hint of orange zest, which makes your eyes sparkle. This cocktail is an anytime beverage, making it versatile and adaptable, there is no wrong setting for the Negroni. This cocktail could be as relaxed as sitting casually enjoying a Sunday afternoon to dancing in the moonlight without a care in the world.

With the Negroni coming from Italy around 1919 it has the perfect hint of exoticness to keep you intrigued and is alluring enough to bring a wry smile to even the most cynical types.

Made with a splendid combination of one part Gin, one part Vermouth Rosso and one part Campari, this gives the excellent mix of playful botanicals, herbal/spicey undertones, plus the added bitterness to show this cocktail has a delightfully playful history, that you won’t be able to get enough of and will captivate you. Favorably served over a large singular ice cube with the simplicity of a single slice of orange zest, this cocktail is the understated but thoroughly charming for all the right reasons.

Now, the Negroni isn’t for everyone of course, in fact, the old Negroni does have a few haters out there, but, for me – it is delectable and as close to perfect as I’d like to be, and I think that’s the real answer, there is no perfect man in general…… so what I am basically saying stuff men and drink your cocktails because at least they do exist….

All jokes aside though – the generalized, “perfect man” bullshit doesn’t exist, but the perfect person for you, whether it is for a short time to learn a new lesson, or to grow old together, will, but maybe you just have to find that one that gives you the same feeling, as when your bartender pours your favorite drink.


bottom of page